Back to I.S.T.D.

Diploma in Dance Instruction

The Diploma In Dance Instruction is the first stage of the ISTD teaching ladder and comprises of 4 units. All 4 units can be completed through ourselves on the full-time or part-time course and can also be undertaken as a distance learning course if necessary with occasional visits to the centre.

The Units are:-

  • Unit 1 - Observation of teaching practice (observations and tutorials). 6 hours of observations required and these can be based on classes at the centre or can take place at other schools, once approved. Tutorial discussions need to take place regularly.
  • Unit 2 - Health and Safety (written exam). Can be studied in class or independently, requires task completion and marking. Written exam which takes place at the Centre.
  • Unit 3 - Intermediate practical examination in the genre.
  • Unit 4 - Dance Practice Unit